RBC Arts Access Fund

The Neighbourhood Arts Network and RBC Foundation announce an exciting new partnership and present the inaugural RBC Arts Access fund for newcomer artists. A micro award initiative offered in the spring, summer and fall.
Neighbourhood Arts Network RBC Arts Access Fund - Supporting Newcomer Artists - three deadlines per year.
The Funds will range from $500 to $1500 to support costs associated with community-engaged arts projects such as artist fees, art supplies, equipment rental, space rental and food costs for a workshop or event. 
In addition to community engaged arts projects, this fund also supports professional development, training and mentorship requests for newcomer artists looking to improve their skills in working in community.
Neighbourhood Arts Network is a strategic initiative of Toronto Arts Foundation. With over 1400 members, our online resources, partnerships and professional development events, help community engaged artists and organizations do what they do best: enrich Toronto and transform it into a more vibrant and liveable city.
INTERESTED? Here’s what you need to do.
1)   Sign up for a free Neighbourhood Arts Network membership.
Make your profile interesting, fill it with photos, links to your work, upcoming events, etc.
2)   Next deadline June 15, 2015 - Applications now open



$10,000 Awards for Emerging Ceramic and Glass Artists!
Are you an emerging artist? Do you want to develop your artistic practice? We have two opportunities for you!

The Canadian Clay & Glass Gallery is calling for submissions to the 2015 RBC Award for Glass and Winifred Shantz Award for Ceramics.

These prestigious national awards allow practising early career ceramic and glass artists to undertake a period of independent research, or other activities that advance their artistic and professional practice. The winner of each Award will receive $10,000. The selection is made by a jury comprised of respected contemporary glass and ceramic artists and other arts professionals. Winners will be celebrated and the awards presented at a gala event in Waterloo Ontario on November 14, 2015.

To be eligible for the Winifred Shantz Award for Ceramics or the RBC Award for Glass, artists must be Canadian citizens or have Permanent Resident status. They must have developed skills through training and/or practice in the field (not necessarily in academic institutions) and be recognized by other artists working in the same artistic tradition. Successful candidates seek payment for their work and actively practice their art. All applicants have maintained a professional practice for no more than 10 years prior to the date of application.

Application Guidelines:

To download the complete guidelines for the RBC Award for Glass or the Winifred Shantz Award for Ceramics, visit www.theclayandglass.ca/awards. In order to be considered, applications for either award must be received electronically by Monday, September 14, 2015.

About the Awards:

The RBC Award for Glass is supported by RBC as part of the RBC Emerging Artists Project. The Winifred Shantz Award for Ceramics is supported by the Keith and Winifred Shantz Fund for the Arts, held at The Kitchener and Waterloo Community Foundation.

Past recipients of both awards truly represent the best of the emerging ceramic and glass artists in Canada. Christopher Reid Flock of Hamilton, Ontario was the winner of the 2014 Winifred Shantz Award for Ceramics. Cheryl Wilson Smith of Red Lake, Ontario was the winner of the 2014 RBC Award for Glass.


Contact Information:

For additional information, please contact Sheila McMath, Curator at curator@canadianclayandglass.ca

Canadian Clay and Glass Gallery
Galerie canadienne de la Céramique et du Verre
25 Caroline Street North
Waterloo, Ontario N2L 2Y5

Monday to Friday 11 am to 6 pm  •  Saturday 10 am to 5 pm  •  Sunday 1 pm to 5 pm

Twitter: @CdnClayandGlass
Facebook: www.facebook.com/theclayandglass



2014 RBC Canadian Painting Competition Now Open

The 2014 RBC Canadian Painting Competition is now open and submissions will be accepted until 5 pm (EST), May 6, 2014. The 15 finalists will be announcedJune 14, 2014 and the winners October 1, 2014 at the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts in Montreal.